You’re Welcome, Ethel!

Sunday, June 24th, 2012

Hello to all soccer players writhing in false agony, cats on treadmills, and drawings of lilac trees.

Spam is amazing! And no, I’m not talking about spam as in, ‘Spam, spam, bacon eggs and spam.’ I’m talking about spam as in the mysterious, nonsensical comments that occasionally find their way to my blog. I don’t know quite how spam filters work– I assume they check for nonsensicality, sentences that don’t go anywhere, and strange people called Ethel. A comment came to my attention a while ago, and this is it:

I am glad for commenting to make you understand what a beneficial encounter my wife’s daughter obtained going through your webblog. She came to understand a good number of issues, most notably what it is like to have a wonderful coaching character to make many people with no trouble learn a number of hard to do subject areas. You actually surpassed my desires. I appreciate you for presenting those informative, trustworthy, edifying and also easy thoughts on your topic to Ethel.

Well, I just want to say to this man that I’m very glad to have presented my informative, trustworthy, and edifying thoughts on my topic to Ethel. That’s my primary objective, writing this blog: to please Ethel. Because everyone’s lot in life should be to present their edifying and easy thoughts on their topics to her.

So this entry is for you, Ethel: I’m pleased that you’re pleased with what I’m writing. I’m glad that the guy who wrote the comment, whose wife’s daughter is you, took the time to tell me how you feel about my blog.

Anyway. I love spam. I’ve heard about even stranger things: once there was an entire article that didn’t make sense about electronic cigarettes. I wasn’t interested. I’ve heard many spam comments telling me about how they enjoy my blog and find my thoughts informative, trustworthy, and edifying. I’m happy that the spammers really like my writings. And I’m even more glad that Ethel does.

Yours as always, enormously– verily– uh… look! There’s a giant ladybug behind you!

(I’m running out of quirky ways to end the entries.)

~Onceabasementdog

Leave a Reply

